Bell Globemedia adds new board members by Grant Robertson

Aug 31, 2006

Source : Globe & Mail

Bell Globemedia named former CBC anchor Pamela Wallin and former BMO Nesbitt Burns Inc. deputy chairman Gordon Lackenbauer to its board of directors yesterday. The appointments came as the company announced the closing of its ownership restructuring undertaken last December, which saw Torstar Corp. and Ontario Teachers Pension Plan buy 20 per cent stakes in the media conglomerate. The deal also saw the Thomson family's Woodbridge Co. Ltd. increase its stake to 40 per cent, while BCE Inc. reduced its share to 20 per cent from 68.5 per cent. Bell Globemedia owns the CTV network and The Globe and Mail. As part of the restructuring, Ms. Wallin and Mr. Lackenbauer join as independent directors. Torstar chief executive officer Robert Prichard and Teachers' senior vice-president James Leech were also named to the board, joining Woodbridge president Geoffrey Beattie, Woodbridge executive vice-president David Binet, Bell Globemedia CEO Ivan Fecan and Ronald Close, president of Bell New Ventures at BCE.

© Globe and Mail